top of page

DISCOVER WHY COMICS ARE IMPORTANT

The next time someone says something like "comics are pointless", show them this.

Welcome to "Comics are Important"! My goal is to put out a series of personal and analytical essays about certain comics that I am passionate about and have the same literary value as prose novels. In addition to this, you will find articles regarding the comics that I plan on reading for the week. In the future, I plan on expanding to other mediums such as video games and animation as well as providing updates on my own personal creative projects. So sit back. Pick an essay. And enjoy!     -Griff

Post: Welcome
Search
Writer's pictureGriff Massey

Books I’m Stoked for: Jinny Hex

Well, it’s that time of the month; solicitations. It’s always exciting to get a quick sneak peek into what’s coming out in three months. On the other hand, it can also be extremely terrifying to see if a series you like is going to be cancelled. Last month, the latter happened. My favorite book at DC, Young Justice was cancelled after 20 issues. I was obviously sad about this for multiple reasons, but the biggest one is that it leaves so many fantastic characters in a publication limbo. Sure, characters like Robin, Superboy, or Impulse will more than likely show up in other books like Batman, Superman, and Flash respectively, but it’s the new and obscure characters that Bendis and company introduced/reintroduced to readers that I’m the most worried about. That’s why when I saw the solicitation for a Jinny Hex one-shot, I was surprised and hopeful.




I think it’s safe to say that Jinny Hex is the most mysterious character to come out of Bendis’s run on Young Justice. As her name implies, Jinny Hex is a descendent of the famed DC Comics cowboy, Jonah Hex. When Jinny was first introduced, she inherited a chest from Jonah that’s filled with a bunch of obscure goodies from around the DC Universe including an H-Dial, the Atom’s belt, a ray gun, and so much more. We still don’t know how Jonah got all that stuff, so maybe this one-shot will shed some light on that.


As for the creative team working on the book, I think Magdalene Visaggio and Gleb Melnikov were perfect choices! I loved Visaggio’s Eternity Girl miniseries that she wrote a couple of years ago because of how she (along with series artist Sonny Liu) balanced out-there concepts with very relatable issues, and I hope she brings that same energy to this one shot. As for Melnikov, I recently read Batman and the Outsiders issue 13 which featured his art and damn! It is so good! I can’t wait to see what this team does with Jinny Hex!


The last (and arguably the biggest) reason why I’m excited for this book is that the success of this book along with the sales of the last couple of Young Justice and Amethyst issues will be key to the potential future of Brian Micheal Bendis’s Wonder Comics imprint. I’ve been loving all of DC’s recent curated imprints because of how they focus on a corner of the DC Universe, and the curators always choose creators that are passionate about these characters. What makes Wonder Comics special to me is that unlike Gerard Way’s Young Animal or Neil Gaiman’s Sandman Universe, I was actually a huge fan of these characters! I grew up reading the original Young Justice series as well as the 2003 Teen Titans comics, so when I saw that first Wonder Comics teaser image, I knew this was going to be something special. I love these characters, and I hope that we keep getting stories about them for years to come.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page