top of page

DISCOVER WHY COMICS ARE IMPORTANT

The next time someone says something like "comics are pointless", show them this.

Welcome to "Comics are Important"! My goal is to put out a series of personal and analytical essays about certain comics that I am passionate about and have the same literary value as prose novels. In addition to this, you will find articles regarding the comics that I plan on reading for the week. In the future, I plan on expanding to other mediums such as video games and animation as well as providing updates on my own personal creative projects. So sit back. Pick an essay. And enjoy!     -Griff

Post: Welcome
Search
Writer's pictureGriff Massey

What I’m Reading 9/23/20

Dark Horse Comics

  • Skulldigger + Skeleton Boy issue 4

    • Written by Jeff Lemire

    • Drawn by Tonci Zonjic

    • Colors by Steve Wands

    • I haven’t mentioned it yet, but I’m a huge fan of Jeff Lemire’s Black Hammer comics! I think both the main book and all of the spinoffs are great deconstructions and homages to classic golden age comics. This is the first new issue of a Black Hammer related book since the pandemic began, and I couldn’t be more excited! Skulldigger + Skeleton Boy has proven to be one of the best spinoffs so far! It’s a really interesting take on the Batman and Robin dynamic with a little bit of Punisher mixed in for good measure. With this issue, we finally get to learn Skulldigger’s origin, and I can’t wait!

    • Quick sidenote: if you’re interested in this book but worried about the four years worth of Black Hammer stories, don’t be. This spinoff is super newcomer friendly and mostly uses new characters aside from the antagonist, Grimjim, who played a minor role in an earlier spinoff.




Image Comics

  • Dead Body Road: Bad Blood issue 4

    • Written by Justin Jordan

    • Art by Benjamin Tiesma

    • Colors by Mat Lopes

    • If you love high octane action movies like “John Wick” or “Atomic Blonde”, you owe it to yourself to read Dead Body Road! The original was fantastic and this one is just as good! In this issue, our protagonist, Bree, is surrounded with no way out! Is this the end of our hero? Well, there’s still two issues left, so I guess that means she’ll just have to fight her way out!



  • Gideon Falls issue 25

    • Written by Jeff Lemire

    • Art by Andrea Sorrentino

    • Colors by Dave Stewart

    • Two Jeff Lemire comics in one week?! That’s a great week in my book! If I’m going to be honest, I have a hard time writing about this book because there are only two issues left, and anything I want or could say would be a massive spoiler for the series. If you want a really good horror comic, this is the book for you!



  • Undiscovered Country issue 8

    • Written by Scott Snyder and Charles Soule

    • Art by Giuseppe Camuncoli and Leonardo Marcello Grassi

    • Colors by Matt Wilson

    • I really have a good feeling about this next story arc. I thought the first arc did a fantastic job at establishing the characters as well as planting the seeds as to how this new America works. Now, our heroes are finally going out and exploring this undiscovered country!




Collections to watch out for

  • Doom Patrol: Weight of the Worlds DC Comics

    • If you know me, you know I never shut up about Doom Patrol (and Young Justice, and Invincible, and Locke & Key, and Black Hammer, etc, etc, etc, but I digress). I’ve been a pretty big fan of this team ever since Gerard Way started writing the book, and now with the final collection of his run coming out, I can easily say that this was one of the most important comics that I’ve ever read. I don’t want to get too into it here, but just know that I have plans to write an essay about Doom Patrol in the future.

1 view0 comments

Σχόλια


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page