top of page

DISCOVER WHY COMICS ARE IMPORTANT

The next time someone says something like "comics are pointless", show them this.

Welcome to "Comics are Important"! My goal is to put out a series of personal and analytical essays about certain comics that I am passionate about and have the same literary value as prose novels. In addition to this, you will find articles regarding the comics that I plan on reading for the week. In the future, I plan on expanding to other mediums such as video games and animation as well as providing updates on my own personal creative projects. So sit back. Pick an essay. And enjoy!     -Griff

Post: Welcome
Search
Writer's pictureGriff Massey

What I’m Reading 8/12/20

This week is a bit lighter for me compared to last week, but that doesn’t mean that this week’s books won’t be fantastic!


Image Comics

  • Excellence (issue 9)

    • Written by Brandon Thomas

    • Art by Khary Randolf

    • Colors by Emilio Lopez

    • Excellence is still pretty early in its run, but I can’t help but feel like this is going to be one of those books that people will be talking about long after it ends. Everyone attached to this book is putting out some of the best work of their careers! Everything about this book from the character dynamics to how Randolf and Lopez convey magic is all next level! If you’re a fan of stories like Harry Potter, please do yourself a favor and read this series!



  • Oblivion Song (issue 26)

    • Written by Robert Kirkman

    • Art by Lorenzo De Felici

    • Colors by Annalisa Leoni

    • After 25 issues, and we still barely know anything about Oblivion! You’d think that a statement like this would be seen as a criticism against the series, but you’d be wrong! Kirkman, De Felici, and Leoni have all done such an amazing job at slowly pulling back the curtains of what the Kuthaal’s greater plans are for Earth! Also, after last month’s surprise return of Science Dog via a backup story (featuring art by Invincible co-creator, Cory Walker), I seriously hope we get another one this issue!



  • Stealth (issue 4)

    • Written by Mike Costa

    • Art by Nate Bellegarde

    • Colors by Tamra Bonvillain

    • I think out of the four Top Cow Pilot Season one-shots that Skybound has turned into miniseries (the other three being Demonic, Stellar, and Hardcore), Stealth has probably been my favorite so far. I think a lot of that has to do with the two main characters. I love how Stealth’s son, Tony, is the POV character. Watching him take care of his superhero father with alztimers while trying to piece together the history of Stealth serves as a really interesting read. And as the series reaches its final three issues, I hope we get to learn a bit more about the villain, Dead Hand.



Collections to watch out for

  • Wonder Twins Volume 2: The Fall and Rise of the Wonder Twins (DC)

    • Mark Russel has always been good at reviving older properties and injecting them with nuanced comedy and social commentary for a modern audience. He did this with Prez and Flintstone (the later of which was nominated for an Eisner award). So I’m sure that when it came to finding the right person to revive the Wonder Twins for the Wonder Comics imprint, Bendis and DC knew that he’d be perfect for the job. Stephen Byrne was also the perfect artist for this project. He did a great job at updating the designs of Zan and Jayna while maintaining the same vibe that they had when they first appeared in the 1970s on Super Friends.


And that concludes the second instalment of “What I’m Reading”! I hope I inspired you to pick up something new or outside your wheelhouse this week! What are you picking up, and is there any book dropping this week that I should check out? If so, recommend some books in the comments below, and feel free to hit me up on Twitter (@garf_mossy) or Instagram (@finstergarf).


18 views0 comments

Opmerkingen


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page