top of page

DISCOVER WHY COMICS ARE IMPORTANT

The next time someone says something like "comics are pointless", show them this.

Welcome to "Comics are Important"! My goal is to put out a series of personal and analytical essays about certain comics that I am passionate about and have the same literary value as prose novels. In addition to this, you will find articles regarding the comics that I plan on reading for the week. In the future, I plan on expanding to other mediums such as video games and animation as well as providing updates on my own personal creative projects. So sit back. Pick an essay. And enjoy!     -Griff

Post: Welcome
Search
Writer's pictureGriff Massey

What I’m Reading 8/19/20

Image Comics

  • DIE!DIE!DIE! issue 12

    • Written by Robert Kirkman and Scott M Gimple

    • Art by Chris Burnham

    • Colors by Nathan Fairbairn

    • If you were to take every over-the-top action movie, about fifty swords and guns, and a whole lot of cocaine and throw all of that into an industrial-sized blender, you’ll get this book.



  • Gideon Falls issues 24

    • Written by Jeff Lemire

    • Art by Andrea Sorrentino

    • Colors by Dave Stewart

    • Gideon Falls is easily the best horror comic on the stands right now! There are four issues left, and I can’t wait to see how the creators are going to end this mind-bending series!



  • Low issue 24

    • Written by Rick Remender

    • Art by Greg Tocchini

    • Colors by Dave McCaig

    • Low is another fantastic series that is coming to end soon. I’m sort of late to the party because I just started reading this book about a month ago. Regardless of that, I’m all caught up and ready for what the creative team has in store for the finale!



Marvel Comics

  • Conan: Battle for the Serpent Crown issue 4

    • Written by Saladin Ahmed

    • Art by Luke Ross

    • Colors by Nolan Woodard

    • As I mentioned a couple of weeks ago, I love the Marvel Conan stuff! Battle for the Serpent Crown has been great because it allows the savage barbarian to interact with different characters and locales of the Marvel universe. In this issue, we see Conan going to Atlantis to find more clues that’ll lead him to the Serpent Crown; however, Namor has some other plans for the savage barbarian.



Collections to watch out for

  • Birthright volume 9: War of the Worlds Image

    • I’m not crazy about the fantasy genre. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with it. It’s just not my cup of tea. A fantasy book has to have a really good premise in order to get me to try it, and Birthright does exactly that! Birthright follows Mikey, a boy who was sent to the magical land of Terrenos where he trained for decades to fight the God King Lore. He then returns home. The only problem is that even though he has aged decades, only a year has passed on Earth. And that’s just issue 1! Now, after forty issues, God King Lore has begun his invasion of Earth, and it’s finally time for Mikey, his family, and the military to take down Lore for good!

2 views0 comments

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page