top of page

DISCOVER WHY COMICS ARE IMPORTANT

The next time someone says something like "comics are pointless", show them this.

Welcome to "Comics are Important"! My goal is to put out a series of personal and analytical essays about certain comics that I am passionate about and have the same literary value as prose novels. In addition to this, you will find articles regarding the comics that I plan on reading for the week. In the future, I plan on expanding to other mediums such as video games and animation as well as providing updates on my own personal creative projects. So sit back. Pick an essay. And enjoy!     -Griff

Post: Welcome
Search
Writer's pictureGriff Massey

What I’m Reading August 5, 2020

This is such an amazing week for comics, especially for DC! So many great books, so little time! Here are the titles that I’m checking out this week:


DC

  • DCeased: Dead Planet (Issue 2)

    • Written by Tom Taylor

    • Art by Trevor Hairsine

    • Colors by Rain Beredo

    • After the two beyond shocking deaths of the previous issue, I (fearfully) look forward to seeing how the rest of the characters react. The solicitation also teases John Constantine and the JLD discovering a new kind of evil roaming the Earth which sounds so damn intriguing.




  • Far Sector (Issue 7)

    • Written by N.K. Jemisin

    • Art and colors by Jamal Campbell

    • With the finale of Doom Patrol: Weight of the Worlds last month, the second half of Far Sector seem to be the final issues that will have the “Young Animal” banner. This is pretty bittersweet. On one hand, it’s going to be really sad to see the imprint that reinvigorated my love for DC Comics go; however, this is one helluva book to go out on! I had fallen off the Green Lantern bandwagon a while ago, but Jemisin and Campbell’s phenomenal storytelling have dragged me right back to Oa. Oh, and there’s going to be a GIANT ROBOT BATTLE in this issue!



  • Young Justice (Issue 17)

    • Written by Brian Michael Bendis and David F Walker

    • Art by Scott Godlewski

    • Colors by Gabe Eltaeb

    • Bendis and Walker’s run on Young Justice has really hit its stride in the past couple of issues. I feel as if he really understands the appeal of these characters and the team as a whole. I remember finishing issue 15 and thinking “Wow, this feels like an issue of the 90s series.” And with the first major story arc completed, Bendis and Walker finally have the time to let these characters breathe a bit before they go on their next adventure. On the art side, Godlewski has done an equally great job at capturing the Saturday morning cartoon vibe that Todd Nauck established with the original and blending this style with the visuals of the YJ animated series. Godlewski truly is the perfect artist for the book, and his art is only enhanced by Eltaeb’s colors making it pop!



Image Comics

  • Fire Power (Issues 1 and 2)

    • Written by Robert Kirkman

    • Art by Chris Samnee

    • Colors by Matthiew Wilson

    • Kirkman knows how to get readers into a new book. Last month saw the launch of his new book Fire Power; however, instead of just launching with issue 1, Kirkman, Samnee, and Wilson decided to drop an entire ogn in order to get people hyped, and it worked! (minor spoilers) The ogn ended with a time jump, and I can’t wait to see how one of my new favorite books continues from there!



  • Reaver (Issue 10)

    • Written by Justin Jordan

    • Art and colors by Niko Henrichon

    • Reaver is an underrated book! If you like Game of Thrones and Suicide Squad than you really owe it to yourself to check out this book. The first collection dropped a couple weeks ago, and this current arc focuses on two of the main characters, so now is the perfect time to catch up.



  • Undiscovered Country (Issue 7)

    • Written by Scott Snyder and Charles Soule

    • Art by Giuseppe Camuncoli and Leonardo Marcello Grassi

    • Colors by Matt Wilson

    • The first arc of Undiscovered Country was one of those first arcs where I thought I knew where the story was going and then all of a sudden BAM! They hit me with a twist that makes me go “Oh, so it’s going to be one of ‘those’ books”. With the start of a new arc, I can’t wait to see what happens next.




Collections to watch out for

  • Collapser (DC)

    • Written by Mikey Way and Shaun Simon

    • Art by Illias Kyriazis

    • Colors by Cris Peters

    • This miniseries was a really fun addition to DC’s Young Animal imprint that I feel like was overlooked because it had no connection to the larger DC Universe despite taking place in continuity. As someone who suffers from anxiety, I found the main character, Liam to be super relatable. I love how the creative team incorporates Liam’s anxiety with his black hole powers. If you want a fantastic story about dealing with anxiety and crazy space battles, I can’t recommend this comic enough!

  • Conan the Barbarian: The Original Marvel Years Epic Collection Volume 1 (Marvel)

    • Out of sheer curiosity, I decided to pick up issue 1 of Marvel’s new Conan the Barbarian comics early last year and I’ve been hooked on Conan ever since! I’ve been meaning to check out some of the Conan stuff that Marvel published back in the 70s, but I didn’t have $125 to drop on the omnibus that they released, so I’m glad that they decided to make smaller and more affordable collections for the original series. This first volume contains the first 13 issues of the 1970 Conan the Barbarian comic as well as Chamber of Darkness issue 4.

  • Savage Avengers Volume 2 To Dine with Doom (Marvel)

    • As stated earlier, I’m obsessed with Marvel’s Conan comics, and Savage Avengers is easily my favorite because of how well it integrates the wandering barbarian into the larger Marvel Universe. This volume sees Conan travelling to Latveria in order to team up with Doctor Doom and Doctor Strange to take on the evil wizard Kulan Gath. This series such a wild ride and I can’t wait for the next arc to begin later this month.


And that concludes the first instalment of “What I’m Reading”! I hope I inspired you to pick up something new or outside your wheelhouse this week! What are you picking up, and is there any book dropping this week that I should check out? If so, recommend some books in the comments below, and feel free to hit me up on Twitter (@garf_mossy) or Instagram (@finstergarf).


8 views0 comments

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page